Tooting my Own Horn

We will open the book. Its pages are blank. We are going to put words on them ourselves. The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day. – Edith Lovejoy Pierce

It’s a couple days after New Year’s Day but I think the above quote still fits. And in this New Year I’m getting back to my blog. It’s been an unintentional long gap but I hope to be back on a more regular basis.

Recently three of my short stories were published in an anthology. Each story started as an excerpt from one of my novels that I revised so that it stands alone. The Reluctant Spy is based on stories my Dad Val used to tell me during my growing up years. War Revisited takes place at the beginning of World War II in Latvia. The third story, Decisions, takes place in St. Petersburg during World War I.

I also worked on the committee that spent more than a year working to put this book together. All the stories and poems come from members of the California Writers Club Tri-Valley Branch. In order to be considered for publication, everyone went through the same process of submitting work, even committee members. The committee carefully reviewed all submissions and even after acceptance, there was a long process of editing and review. I personally worked with seven of the writers.

The California Writers Club’s purpose is to foster professionalism in writing, promote networking of writers within the writing community, mentor new writers, and provide literary support for writers and the writing community. The Tri-Valley Branch supports all genres, writing styles and related professions such as editing, publishing, photographic journalism and agents. We provide an environment where members can obtain critique of their efforts, attend workshops, and share experiences. Founded in 1909, The California Writers Club is one of the oldest professional writers’ clubs in the United States. It started under the influences of Jack London, George Sterling, Herman Whitaker, and Austin Lewis.

I’m very proud of my work on the anthology and, if you want to buy it, you can find it on amazon.com. The title is Voices of the Valley First Press.

About Vee

I'm a writer working on my fifth novel.
This entry was posted in author, poetry, published, writer's conferences, writer's rejections, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tooting my Own Horn

  1. Violet Carr Moore says:

    Thanks, Vee, for your blog about Voices of the Valley: First Press. Although I’m president of this branch and a published author, I made my way through the same maze of edits as other members of California Writers Club Tri-Valley branch. It’s a horn-tooting occasion!

Leave a Reply

