IS BLOGGING STILL RELEVANT?

I have not posted on my blog for a long time. In fact, I’ve been considering whether to take this site down or not. The biggest reason I haven’t posted is that I had nothing that compelled me to share it with an audience. I’ve been writing. I’ve been editing. I’ve been to numerous writing workshops and conferences. I’ve been busy living my life. None of that is of great interest to the outside world.

The topic of blogging comes up at most writing conferences. There are workshops that tell you how important it is to have a presence “out there.” I’ve heard numerous times that it’s important to build an audience and have a platform and that a platform will help in securing an agent for your book. I even went to a workshop that talked about blogging a book. At all the workshops, I took notes furiously. Soon, though, most of what I’d written didn’t seem that important. It all simply slipped away from my consciousness and was filed somewhere in the recesses of my gray matter. And none of it was something I wanted to write a whole post about.

Since my last post, I’ve considered writing another one now and then, thinking I really should, but since no topic came to mind, I didn’t. After meditating on it, I realized there is no point to forcing a post just for the sake of being on a schedule or in fear that without the proper online platform I won’t win over that agent.

Recently, I heard that it isn’t so important to have a blog. The new thinking is the opposite of what was touted only months ago. The idea proposed is that the most important thing is your body of work. Do your writing, hone your craft and write some more. Your work is your platform. This came from a very well respected, huge New York agent. And I immediately liked that idea.

It’s one reason I’ve been thinking about the whole blogging thing so much. The huge question tugging at me has been – do I or don’t I keep this site? In other words, it’s a “to be or not to be” kind of question. I meditated some more. The bottom line is that I’d still like to have an Internet presence, one where I can share about me the writer.

Me the writer is a different creature from me the blogger. So this “blog” will be morphing into something more like an author page. I’m not saying I will never post a blog-like entry. Maybe I will post something now and again. If it is exciting enough or interesting enough to share. Right now that seems like a big if. But I have learned never to say never so am leaving the door open.

In the meantime, I will be adding some more pages of my writing, excerpts from novels, excerpts from memoir, maybe a short story, and definitely some more poetry.

To answer my own question about blogging, I have no idea if blogging is still relevant in general. But for me, personally, it is not. Writing is.

About Vee

I'm a writer working on my fifth novel.
This entry was posted in agents, author, blogging, literature, poetry, published, rewriting, writer, writer's conferences, writer's rejections, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to IS BLOGGING STILL RELEVANT?

  1. That was supposed to say he doesn’t have Facebook friends, he has friends.

  2. I think this is a very interesting topic, Vee. I enjoy writing my blog (writingshed.me), but sometimes go weeks or months without writing—because I don’t have anything to say. I enjoy writing the blog because I can just write about whatever I want. Is started it 5 years ago now to change my story. So I guess I write it to tell my story as I go along.
    But, I think we need to get out from under this pressure that we have to write one, have a platform, whatever. When push comes to shove, I think if we have written a good story (I’m referring to novel or short story here), the platform doesn’t matter.
    I like what Sherman Alexie says — he doesn’t have Facebook, he has friends.
    Hope you are well. I’m sorry I didn’t get a chance to get together with you before I moved away.

    • Vee says:

      Thanks for your comment, Karen. I agree that we need to get out from under the pressure. Hope all is well in your new home.

  3. Vee, you’re a writer. That’s reason enough to blog. Tell us about Lavia, your manuscript setting. I’d like to see a few photos from your last visit.

Leave a Reply

